Assistant Professor Becomes First Elected President of Canadian Society of Pelvic Medicine

Feb 11, 2020

Dr. McDermott headshotFaculty members with the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at the University of Toronto are well known both nationally and internationally for taking on leadership roles in their field. One member who recently took a new leadership role is Assistant Professor Dr. Colleen McDermott, who was the first elected president of the Canadian Society of Pelvic Medicine (CSPM).

The CSPM is a non-profit society that represents the efforts of professionals committed to treating pelvic floor disorders. The Society, which was founded in 2017 by several urogynecologists across the country - including UofT ObGyn Professor Dr. Harold Drutz - took three years to build their membership, finally allowing for a board election at the end of 2019. As such, Dr. McDermott is the first elected president of this young society. Currently, the membership consists of urogynecologists, urologists, nurses, pelvic physiotherapists, researchers, as well as fellows and residents.

"I am extremely honoured to be the first elected president of the CSPM," said Dr. McDermott. "Moving forward, our long-term goals include FPMRS subspecialty accreditation and certification with the Royal College; creation of a national research network; and a standardized fellowship curriculum with a central application process. In the short-term, we are working on building the functionality of our website and a national virtual journal club."

The CSPM's Annual Scientific Meeting - which will be on April 18th, 2020 in Toronto - is set to welcome their new president, as well as discuss topics related to female pelvic floor problems, disorders, and therapies. More information can be found on the Sinai Health System website.

You can learn more about the CSPM on their website.


Don't want to miss a post? Follow us on social media for more news!


If you would like to be a guest blogger, please contact us at